Back on Dec 1st of this year, The God of high School published its final chapter for everyone to see. I’ve been following the series for about 2 years now after a buddy of mine introduced me to it(along with the awesome app Tachiyomi , which I used to read it). GOH is easily one of my favorite series. I got hooked right from the first chapter. It’s not perfect by any means, but I got love for this series from the bottom of my heart.

First thing’s first when we’re talking GOH - the fights are godlike. This has some of the best fight choreography in manga/comics/webtoons/whathaveyou. The art goes along really well with it, too. Even after the series gets into its more fantastical stuff, it’s still primarily people throwing hands, and there’s not a boring fight in this series. I can truly say that in all my years of watching anime and reading manga/comics that there are few things as satisfying as watching Mori Jin kick the shit out of people. It’s truly a magical experience that I believe everyone shood partake in.

The story of GOH is actually pretty good. It’s obviously not what everyone’s here for, but good fights require good story and buildup to make you really hype for them, and this series is no exception to that. It starts off a simple shonen tournament series and then grows into a more fantastical story about humans and gods.

The characters are another underrated part of the series. God of High School has some pretty cool characters and some very good character writing for the most part. Mori is a very enjoyable protagonist who has his own personal highs and lows as the story goes forward. You get a lot more out of Mori’s journey if you’re more familiar with the story of Sun Wukong, but they give you enough context for you to not really be lost. Daewi and Mira, his friends, are also an enjoyable pair. Daewi fairs better than Mira in the character department, as she is shafted in the first arc in the 2nd half of the series, but they’re both lovable characters who you can root for. Mira definitely could’ve had some better handling at times, but we never ventured into Naruto tier stuff with her, so crisis averted. A lot of the tournament participants stick around for the rest of the series and I was always glad to see em pop up again. The character interactions in GOH are probably tied with the art for the 2nd strongest feature of the series to me. It doesn’t necessarily get to flex them as often as a series like Frieren, per se, but character interactions were consistently engaging and the relationships were always at the forefront.

Mujin getting socked in the face never gets old if I’m being real

I’ve said it multiple times to friends, but this is the 1st time I’m saying it here: In my opinion, God of High School normally sits somewhere around 7/10, but when it pops off, it’s like 200/10. The highs this series hits are well worth the occasional lows it has. And even the thing about those lows is, they still have payoff. GOH earns its moments, even if it goes through the mud sometimes to get to those moments.

Probably my favorite fight

My favorite character was hands down Mori Hui. I just loved seeing him become his own person and affect the people around him. After him would probably be Sujin Lee. I’m a sucker for a badass tomboy.

Mori Hui the GOAT.

My favorite moment in the series would be Mori ascending during the final battle. Honest to god one of the hypest things I have ever read. After that would be Mori defending Peach during his 2nd tournament run. His and Peach’s friendship was a blast and him standing up for her despite what it could’ve cost him was a great moment. The can whoop-ass he opens on everybody after is probably his best work, and trust me, he’s got quite the resume in putting people on their asses.

THIS IS THE STANCE

This series has become one of my all time favorites. It just hits all the right spots with me. I’m sad it’s over, but I’m so happy I got to read it while it was running. This series coming out every week always put a smile on my face no matter what. This series is amazing. Love it to death.