Garo

My prayers have been answered! There is a new Garo on the way! Announced on October 10th after a very sudden countdown that took place over a few days, a new Garo titled (roughly) “The One Who Inherits Steel/Inheritor of Steel” will be coming in January. It’s set in the Ryuga universe and will be following Ryuga himself.

I’m so damn excited for this, man. I haven’t really gotten the chance to talk about it beyond that post I made in the beginning when I made this blog, but Garo truly is my fvaorite tokusatsu franchise. Easily my favorite fights, stories, and characters across just about all its entries. I am so curious about it being in the Ryuga-verse, though. Very largw spoiler for the Ryuga Universe of Garo here, at the end of Fang of God -Jinga, Jinga revives himself and is off making Hell on earth a reality in a sort of “Villain wins in the end” cliffhanger. And also, because that show clearly takes place a good minute into the future, being that it follows a reincarnated Jinga who lived well into his adulthood clearly, it kinda wouldn’t make sense for this new series to have Jinga in it. Even if Jinga immediately got smoked and reincarnated moments after he was defeated in the Fang of God movie, it would still take years for his new self to age to the point where he was in the show. I’m just saying it’s a bit weird to go back to the present for this new story when we know Jinga comes back in the future and basically voids any good they do in this upcoming series. That being said, I think it’d a little overkill to have something like “Let’s go forward in time and stop him” as the main plot point for this show. i love Jinga; masahirou Inoue’s performance as him is the reason I became a fan of his and put up with watching Kamen Rider Decade. It’s just that I think it’s a bit silly to keep going back to Jinga. He had his tv series. He had his movie. He had another tv series. We don’t need to immediately jump back to him once the series is back. I’m just curious if they’ll offer any sort of happy ending for the future we see at the end of the Jinga show.

But again, I’m so excited for Garo. Every other franchise has been eating good lately, so I’m glad to finally have some new Garo. Just like with Kamen Rider and Sentai, it’s a bit exciting to go from watching a completed seires to watching one every week as it comes out. It’s a really fun experience. Not needed to enjoy toku at all, but as someone who still reads manga every week, I just enjoy having something to look forward to every week. It’s a comforting thing that I don’t think many people appreciate anymore.

Blue Exorcist

Simiarly, Blue Exorcist is making a comeback with a new anime season in January as well. While the manga has been going on, minus the year long break that took place last year, it’s been about 6 years since the end of the last season of the anime. This season, however, was stated to be original. Normally, that’d be a deal breaker for me, but the 2nd half of the Blue Exorcist anime was original and ended up being pretty decent(although, it was obviously ignored when the anime came back and started adapting the manga again), so I’m not against this. Also, I’ve leaned towards watching things that I don’t read, so this is a happy in-between of watching something I like without having already read it.

Blue Exorcist is one of my favorite manga. It colors a lot of what I like these days. Very good manga and one that influenced my tatses since it was the first series I saw when I got back into anime a literal decade ago. Give it a chance yourself if you’re resding this now. The manga and anime are great. You won’t regret it.

Genshin

This wasn’t a busy month or anything in Genshin. Was just farming, really. The 3rd anniversary event came and went, and I got a bunch of gems and a nice weapon out of it, but that’s really it. I pulled a 4-star or two I didn’t have, but didn’t gain a lot of new stuff since I’m saving gems for Arlecchino. I will say that i am very tempted to pull on one of the upcoming banners, though, because it’s supposed to have Kuki Shinobu on it, and she’s the best hyperbloom dps in the game. Keyword is tempted. I can always(eventually) get her from the standard banner, and I’m currently building my Lisa to be my Hyperbloom DPS, which is a win for me since Lisa is one of the characters I had insane brainrot for far before I ever actually played the game, so actually playing her will be fun.

I did finally beat floor 11. I leveled my Thoma to 90 and saw that he was hitting 20k+ in Burgeon damage and decided to give it a go. I could’ve done it with my Eula team, but decided just go with a Freeze team instead would be a little easier considering how it matched up vs the content. Plus, it let me bust out my Kazuha, who doesn’t really have a place in my current configuration of my Burgeon team and isn’t accomplishing much in my Eula team. It was fun to have Rosaria be my main DPS for a floor. Plus, I get to do it one more time since Abyss resets the 1st of November. Free primos. We take those.

Omega Strikers

Just a little bit on Omega Strikers real quick. That game has started its 2nd season with a pretty fun event and a new chaarcter. I haven’t gotten to play as her yet, but the Omega Strikers game is still really fun. Now’s a pretty good time to give it a shot if you’ve ever been curious about it.

Snap

Black Knight finally dropped in Snap and I picked him up immediately. I was already playing a Lady SIf + Ghost Rider combo deck for shits and giggles and he comes out and makes it batter. Card is great. Gives that sort of deck a lot of redundancy by giving it another way to drop a big mf in a lane to win it. This is made a lot stronger by the fact that they chose to just make MMM a pretty useless card right at the end of the month, so going forward, Zabu decks like this and the Blackbolt + Stature Darkhawk deck can see more play.

I also have 2800 tokens at the time of writing, so I just went ahead and put Stegron in the deck image even though I don’t have him this month because as soon as I get those last 200 tokens, I’m buying him and slapping him in this deck. This is my shits and giggles deck and Stegron is a card that makes me giggle a lot. Funny ass card.

ECT

We had some cool tournaments this month, ECT chief among them, so I’m just gonna throw up some pretty nice top 8s.